I Prefer Round Balls…

Could someone tell me why ITV screened a game of rugby between France and Argentina last night? I mean, what’s the point of watching a game when you want both sides to lose? 🙂

I’ve never really understood Rugby. I mean, if you really want to spend 80 minutes with your head between a man’s legs, or your hand up his crotch, why not just… [that’s enough – Ed]

11 Responses to I Prefer Round Balls…

  1. Hammerithome says:

    Hi Ian,much better picture by the way.
    I never used to like Tennis,Cricket or Rugby,then one day my Dad sat me down and explained some of the rules to me so I could understand a little bit about each game I was watching. I must say it did make a difference and I started to enjoy other sports.
    It doesn’t matter what shape your balls are,it’s what you do with them that counts!!
    Keep up the good work. Cheers.

  2. Andy says:

    Rugby is a good game. I’ve played Rugby and football in my time and I have to say I found rugby extremely technical with a lot of things to remember. Rugby caters for everyone and the myth of it all being big burley men is hopefully subsiding. I mean, can you imagine a 16 stone lump being able to run as fast as Jason Robinson??? Though that same lump could still be a good prop! Since you’re a west ham fan I’ll let you off that little dig ; )

  3. Westhamdave says:

    Rugby is God’s game! Picture a Welsh prop from 1970s, all muscle and big hair…..then cast your minds eye to the creation of man in the sistine chapel. God is a well muscled man with big hair…….you see?

  4. Kavster says:

    Rugby is a game for hooligans played by gentlemen
    Football is a game for gentlemen played by hooligans !

    You still look and sound gay by the way : )

  5. Croydonian says:

    I was attempting to have a quiet drink with the other half in a pub in town last night, and having noted the score at 12-9 (I think) was trying to second guess which team was later being cheered by an English speaking crowd. I’d guessed Argentina, and got it all wrong.

  6. The Academy says:

    I am a huge West Ham fan, ex footballer and now play rugby. I have to say that I am slightly disappointed by your comments. Until you have played the game and understood its detail, I feel that many football fans are in any position to criticise. Players are fitter today, some still very big, but many fast, technical and intelligent. The game is complex, with many different areas of expertise. Far more than in football. I can understand your view Iain, as my family are football fans and do not understand the game. But if I had my time again I would choose rugby every time, for the game, the people and the social scene. It beats football in every area except popularity. I now have children and hope they play the game they love, they choose, but if I was to be part of the decision, I would like them to be brought up respecting people (referees in this case), being honest and shaking hands after a game. Rugby everytime for me….

  7. Brooking knows best says:

    It’s funny, I’ll support England in any game they play.

    Back in 2003 I was the proudest rugby fan ever! Now that we don’t stand much chance of winning, Im not the fan I once was! lol

    Still, “come on England, swing low and all that chariot stuff!

  8. The Headmaster says:

    Brooking really does know best, I’d say!
    As it goes Iain, I found myself willing the argies to victory! Partly the Tevez factor I suppose but more an utter contempt for the pompous, arrogant french. Great stuff!

  9. DaDon says:

    I’ll tell you why – ITV paid a fortune for the rights and have to squeeze every bit of value that they can out of the tournament . They also got a bit lucky, Argentina beating the French in France is a HUGE upset. Well done the Pumas.

  10. jon l.colney says:

    if youve ever tried to pick up a rugby ball thats rolling on the ground then how on earth cn you like that game? it always makes you look like a pratt and bonks you on the nose!! great game but stupid ball,egg thingy!

  11. robb says:

    Either you enjoy Rugby or you dont, not a great deal will change that but Rugby isnt going to go away just becazuse you dont like it. here are a few points of interest though

    1) Those that enjoy rugby have had a lot more to cheer about than those that dont over the past 20 years.

    2) Rugby makes football look silly in a few areas, for example video replays are in place and they work. the clock stops for injuries and time waisting, hence no diving or faining injury (simple and obvious) and players are instantly punished for any kind of back chat to the ref. I am a massive football fan but in these areas football is seriously lacking.

    3) There is no segregation in the crowd, this means the fans in the ground are purely focused on the game, not on insulting those that support or play for some other team to their own. If you think this leads to less atmosphere at a game i sudjest you go to the milenium stadium for a wales vs england game, it is without equal.

Leave a Reply

