Hull City Preview

West Ham are unbeaten in 6 and Hull have lost their last 5 Premier League games. So we’re going to win, right? You’d hope so, but even under Zola, we haven’t changed that much. Having said that, I am confident that we will continue our winning streak tonight, partly because the team virtually picks itself. The only real question is whether Savio Nsereko will start or be introduced from the bench. My bet is on the latter. But if he does play, where will he play? Up front in place of Di Michele or on the left in place of Jack Collison? I have no idea.

So this is the likely lineup: Green, Upson, Neill, Ilunga, Collins, Behrami, Collison, Noble, Parker, Cole, Di Michele.

One other word of caution, if you will excuse the pun. Behrami is one booking away from a ban. If he picks up a yellow card today he misses the Man U game.

34 Responses to Hull City Preview

  1. IronMick says:

    I’m actually quite cautious about tonights game – mainly because there have been so many occasions where teams with poor form have proved to be a problem. The should have Bullard playing and I feel we will eed to watch him, and be aware of giving away free kicks in dangerous positions. Saying that I have no doubt that we can brush Hull aside in the right circumstances. We have superior quality players in almost every position.
    My hope for this game, as I have previously mentioned, is for the crowd to really get behind the team and the managment! A few Zola songs would be great.
    I agree with Iain that Savio will be intriduced from the bench to cause the Hull defense some real problems
    My prediction is 3-1 with a tight first half, followed by a display of dominance and a cheeky Savio goal in the second….. 🙂

  2. supernumbersix says:

    I’ve been waiting forty years to be able to banish that ‘we should win this one by a mile – but we are West Ham’ feeling and still can’t see that day, even on the horizon. Even a game as winnable as the one tonight makes me nervous!

    COME ON YOU IRONS !!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Ray Moore says:

    Zola’s claret and blue army

  4. Ray, I’m with you mate, I think it is about time we start signing “Gianfranco’s Claret and Blue Army!”

    I actually have a great feeling about tonight, don’t know why but I do. We are due one of those “special” nights under the Upton Park floodlights and I think tonight is that night!!!

    I think the team are starting to look good under Zola and for once we have actually done what we set out to do and that was not to sell our best players (BellEnd doesn’t count he wanted to go!!!) . In the past its been said but I’ve never believed it, usually because the good players get sold but with Zola selling the fringe players and bringing in Savio who looks like a great young talent, the Future Is Bright … The Future’s Clarent N Blue!!!

    Can’t wait for tonight … I’ll be there ready for Bubbles … and played by the RIGHT pa announcer!!!!

    C’MON YOU IRONS!!!!

  5. redkipper says:

    If its like the last Stoke game with Hull playing the long ball, the it will be close and tough to win.

    Behrami should play even if he gets a yellow card and misses MU game because to win againgst Hull is more important as well as more winable.

    Looking forward to seeing the new boy late in the game.

    Lets cheer for Zola.

    COYI

  6. chris says:

    Hope we dont struggle!
    We always play better against the good teams,big physical teams we struggle with,I’ll be watching to see if nobles up for it tonight.

  7. Goatygav says:

    Top of my voice singing loud and proud tonight. I LOVE Upton Park under the floodlights – a very special atmosphere when we’re all properly up for it.

    I’m with those wanting to hear “Gianfranco’s Claret & Blue Army” as well as giving Savio a decent welcome, providing he takes his bow, with: –

    Savio – whoa oh oh oh
    Savio – whoa oh oh ho
    We can’t pronounce his name
    He’s better than Jermain!!

    I agree that the team should be as you’ve outlined Iain. I hope the crowd gets behind the players and manager from the first whistle and there’s none of the negative “Nervousness” that’s been in evidence so far this season.

  8. irontc says:

    4 -0 Irons

  9. Scalyback says:

    Can’t help agreeing with supernumbersix, but also with goatygav!

    It is time for Gianfranco Zola’s claret & blue army to be heard loud & clear and tonight would be a good time to start. For me the atmosphere at the Boleyn ground has deteriorated to the extent that even supporters of teams like Stoke & Fulham are making more noise than us. That really must change.

    We need to really get behind the team and make a lot of noise (not booing the Hull players either)

  10. Paul M says:

    3-0 for me, Ilunga, cole and Di Michele goals. Hope Saviour gets a run for 20 minutes or so at the end. Coming off the bench then will give the fans a big lift – lets raise the roof for the boy and show him wot we’re all about.

    Irons

  11. IronMick says:

    Following on from Iain’s comments about behrami.
    I agree with RedKipper – the game tonight is much bigger than Man U, Hull are just two point off of us making the game effectively a six pointer as it stands.
    You do not expect anything against united ( although I have a suspicion we we’ll pick up at least a draw at arsenal)
    For that reason I think leaving out Behrami for this reason would be madness.

  12. IronMick says:

    Just seen a report that Zola is interested in taking on Mathieu Flamini ( former Arsenal) on Loan from Milan. The report doen not have any solid quotes or sources, however thought it worth a mention.
    I would very much welcome this deal – A striker with Prem experience is hard to come by – and a good one IMO at that.

  13. Roshi says:

    I was pleased when Jimmy Bullard was left out of the Fulham side, I hope he doesn’t get me back tonight.

  14. IronMick says:

    I’ll second that Roshi,
    Bullard is a very good player, especially dangerous on the edge of the area.
    I’m glad he has come good after failing to get into the West Ham team all those years ago, he has worked very hard to get where he is now – and sets a good example to kids and fellow professionals.
    Also an as a local lad, I have an affecion for him – just not tonight!!

  15. James says:

    Yep Noble is my only concern, hope he stops losing the ball tonight!!

    Otherwise it’s on the cards for us to win, I am quite confident!

    Oh and Upson is a must for this game, Tomkins to the bench please Mr Z!!

  16. James says:

    Also have to add the I hope Behrami plays without getting booked tonight, We cannot afford to lose him for the Man U game!!

  17. E1 says:

    Behrami must play we need a big performance tonight and I want a loose my voice by the morning 3 – 1 COME ON YOU IRONS !!!! TONIGHT IS ZOLA NIGHT lets do it boys lets shake the life out of the stadium and scare the life out of Hull Show em what real Cockney support is all about NOT LIKE THE MILLWALL MUPPETS !!!!!

  18. grayboguestmeister says:

    I like Jimmy Bullard… Soccer AM have some great clips of him… plays the game with a smile, the way it should be played. And respect to him for battling back from serious injury.

    All that said, it would be nice if he has a quiet game tonight.

    Oh yes, it’s Zola Night… ooh what a fright… oh yes, it’s Zola’s night (oh what a night)

    C’mon guys… get stuck in, and you guys in the crowd get the old evening atmosphere pumped up to the max.

  19. grayboguestmeister says:

    p.s. I’ll be listening on the radio but then start playing six-a-side at 21.30 (outdoors, too) so how frustrating is that going to be, not knowing the final score. Hopefully it’ll be done and dusted by then.

  20. DevoDevo says:

    Since I am a run with my pre-match predicitons, I predict:

    A tough first half, possibly 0-0. Worse thing for us will be to concede an early goal as we did against Stoke. The rest of the game will be trying to play through 10 defenders.

    Second half we score within 10 minutes of restart and game opens up, with us finally winning 2-0. 🙂

    My hope tonight is that if Hull set up, as we think, quite defensively, we use our full backs higher up the field to give us added width. This worked well against Pool on the left and with Neill back tonight, he can send in decent crosses as well (unlike the dreadful faux pas).

    Finally on Noble: He did give the ball away early on against Pool, but he improved and nobody can doubt his confidence and aplomb when we get a penalty.

    My slight problem with him is his pace. He looks quite leaden footed in todays game, which is very quick, but I like his movement and his ability to ‘find’ a killer pass.

  21. grayboguestmeister says:

    OK, I know you’re all on the way to the game soon, so here’s my song for you to belt out in true Italian tenor style (to the tune of O Solo Mio … or, Just one Cornetto to the likes of you and me).

    Ready? ….(big build-up)

    Just one Gianfranco
    Zola for me
    He’s got more talent
    in his right knee
    Than all Spurs
    Entire front three
    Just one Gianfranco
    From Eeetaly

    (I thank you … takes a bow)

  22. Roshi says:

    Wow gray………………………………….ster forget Andrew Lloyd Webber that will do fine for Eurovision Song Contest!

  23. IoDHammer says:

    Wish i was going, we need evryone to bring the house down so we win this game!

  24. james says:

    to my old mans a dustman like Rebrov’s.
    oh savio
    you signed for gianfranco
    before we didn’t know
    has he tricks like ronaldo?
    how do you pronounce his name?
    is he better than jermaine?
    but now we’ve seen you at upton park
    he can rot in sh**e hart lane!!

  25. Goatygav says:

    Graybo – I’m off in 5 mins but I’m well impressed with your creativity there. John Hampden would be proud fella!!

    Not sure I’m brave enought to start that one up but you never know. 2 or 3 pints before a game and I sing like a lark – without shame!!

  26. grayboguestmeister says:

    Cheers, GoatyGav… have a great evening

    and the rest of you

  27. IoDHammer says:

    Whats the score going to be tonight? And who shall i bet on scoring first? lol

  28. grayboguestmeister says:

    Noble (pen)

    3-1

  29. IoDHammer says:

    Right im putting a tenner on that! lol

  30. Paul M says:

    Good news all – Savio has been given clearence to play so we should see him tonight. I can’t wait

    Irons

  31. chris says:

    Keyman is Noble,he either runs the show or gets kicked out the game!
    COYI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!see you all there EAST LONDON IS WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

  32. Falvey says:

    yeah i must say Noble is influential.
    if hes in form he can be the creative quality we need in the team, if he plays badly hes ineffective.

    i’m looking for Savio Nsereko to be given half an hour or so.
    i hope he starts Sears instead of Di Michele, cos i think Sears would work well with Cole

    Lets hope Behrami stays calm and wont miss the Man U game.
    That would be a disaster

    He is solid every game
    We need him.

  33. james says:

    Carlton Cole was a merry old soul
    And a merry old soul was he
    He calls for the ball, puts it in the goal
    Or sets up Di Michele
    Oh theres none so rare, that can compare
    With King Cole and his Di Michele

  34. grayboguestmeister says:

    IODHammmer… did you put that tenner on Noble to score the first goal from the spot?

    DOH!!!

Leave a Reply

